Individual trophies are given to players that are either top in statistics, voted on by the Players Association, and that act sportsmanlike in all aspects of the sport and daily lives. Most of the 17 trophies are presented at the NHL Awards Ceremony, as well as during the last two rounds of the Stanley Cup Playoffs. They are selected by the NHL Players Association (NHLPA), the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA), and General Managers of the league or are given based on points and statistics.


Regular Season Individual Trophies and Awards

Calder Memorial Trophy

The Calder Trophy is “rookie of the year,” given to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the NHL, selected in a PWHA poll.

Hart Memorial Trophy

The Hart Memorial Trophy is an award given to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team. Selected in a poll of the PHWA in all NHL cities at the end of the regular season.

James Norris Memorial Trophy

The Norris Trophy is an award given to the defenseman who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position.

Frank J. Selke Trophy

The Selke Trophy is an award given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.

Ted Lindsay Award

The Ted Lindsay Award is presented annually to the “most outstanding player” in the regular season as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.

Vezina Trophy

The Vezina Trophy is an award given to the goalkeeper deemed to be the best at this position as voted by the general managers of all NHL clubs.


Points and Statistics Trophies

Art Ross Trophy

The Art Ross Trophy is an award given to the player who leads the NHL in scoring points at the end of the regular season.

Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy

The Rocket Richard Trophy is an award given to the NHL’s top goal. Determined on regular season play, there can be multiple winners.

William M. Jennings Trophy

The Jennings Trophy is given to the goalkeeper(s) having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it, based on regular-season play.


Individual Playoff Trophy

Conn Smythe

The Conn Smythe Trophy is an award given to the most valuable player for his team in the playoffs. Selected by the PHWA at the conclusion of the final game in the Stanley Cup Final.


Sportsmanship Trophies and Awards

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

The Masterton Trophy is an award under the trusteeship of the PHWA and is given to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.

King Clancy Trophy

The King Clancy Trophy is given to the player who best exemplifies leadership on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy

The Lady Byng Trophy is given to the player deemed to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award

The Messier Leadership Award is given “to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice during the regular season.” After input from fans, clubs and NHL personnel, Messier picks the finalists and winner.

NHL Foundation Award

The NHL Foundation Award is given to the player “who applies the core values of hockey-commitment, perseverance and teamwork-to enrich the lives of people in his community.


Coaches and General Managers Trophies

Jack Adams Award

The Jack Adams Award is given to the coach deemed to have contributed the most to his team’s success, selected in a poll of NHL Broadcasters’ Association (NHLBA) members.

Jim Gregory GM of the year

The GM of the Year Award is an award presented to recognize the work of the top general manager in the NHL. Voting is conducted among the 31 team general managers and a panel of five NHL executives and five media members at the conclusion of the regular season.


*Each link takes you to the history and past winners of each award and trophy*


If you have any further questions, be sure to submit a Fan Question form! And don’t forget to subscribe to my email!

1 Comment

ANTHONY DONOVAN · March 23, 2023 at 9:20 am

I love that the NHL gives out awards for more than just statistical achievements. While other sports do this too, no one does it as extensively as the NHL>

Comments are closed.